January 28, 2015

Possession of Marijuana less than 20 grams

Possession of marijuana can either be a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the amount possessed. If you possess 20 grams or more it can be punished as a 3rd degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison. If you possess less than 20 grams it is punishable as a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in the county jail.
January 28, 2015

Are officers impatient when asking for proof of registration and proof of insurance?

these tickets are $116 a piece. Most of the time these tickets are given along with a moving violation
September 24, 2014

What is the difference between careless driving and reckless driving?

The biggest difference is that reckless driving is a criminal charge and careless driving is non-criminal.
August 19, 2014

Never pay a driving on a suspended license ticket!

What causes habitualization? If you get 3 convictions for driving on a suspended license within a 5 year period the DMV will suspend your license for 5 years.
August 7, 2014

Strange moving violations

Did you know you can receive a moving violation if you startle an animal being led or ridden by someone on the side of the road?
July 15, 2014

Can you get a moving violation in a golf cart?

Just as you can get a moving violation on a bicycle, you can get a moving violation on a golf cart.
July 1, 2014

Not all moving violations require that your vehicle is moving.

This in part reads as follows, no person shall stop, park or leave standing any vehicle, whether attended or unattended, on a roadway that can practicably be moved off of the roadway.
June 26, 2014

When is a U turn prohibited?

There are two times when a U turn is prohibited. One, if there is a sign posted prohibiting a U turn or if a U turn cannot be made without affecting other traffic.
April 17, 2014

Speeding ticket by Pacing.

The simple truth is that Florida Law acknowledges Pacing of a vehicle to obtain the speed to be valid.
October 13, 2013

CDL drivers no longer unfairly treated in Palm Beach County

No matter what the reason, at least CDL drivers are now given a fair shake in court.
September 8, 2013

CDL drivers are getting screwed in Palm Beach County

CDL drivers already have fewer options when they get a ticket.  They are not allowed to elect school like the rest of us can. So, the only option that they have is to go to court to try to avoid points.
July 26, 2012

Are rear view mirrors required??

a vehicle must have a mirror so located to reflecta view of the highway to the driver of at least 200 feet
July 19, 2012

Texting while driving in Florida.

it is illegal to “operate a motor vehicle on any public road or highway of this state while using a wireless telecommunications device to write, send, or read any text based communication, including but not limited to, a text message, instant message, email or Internet data.”
July 5, 2012

The age of a ticket can determine whether you have the right to take it to court.

The old rule used to be that no matter how old your Palm Beach County ticket was, as long as you paid the late fee, you could enter a not guilty plea and take it to court
March 14, 2012

Update on Police Officer being a jerk.

Speedy trial had already run and the Prosecutor agreed that this was just an officer being vindictive.
February 21, 2012

Police misconduct or just an officer being a jerk?

For the record, the officer has given my client criminal violations, moving violations and non moving violations.